HomeBlocksFront-TopRyder Buck Scholarship Marks 10th Year

Ryder Buck Scholarship Marks 10th Year

The Ryder Buck Memorial Music Scholarship is celebrating its 10th year of honoring the 2008 La Canada High School graduate who discovered a passion for music in the school’s choir program.

Buck went on to study guitar and songwriting in college. He formed the band Ryder Buck & the Breakers and played shows from Pasadena to Malibu.

The foundation supports talented college-bound seniors at La Canada High who plan to continue studies in vocal, instrumental or theatrical performance. Thanks to community contributions, 38 students have received $1,000 scholarships over the past decade for future music studies.

Students do not need to major in music but must study it and have plans to share their talents. Interviews, auditions and a written application are accepted each spring.

Donations can be sent to: Ryder Buck Scholarship Foundation, 466 Foothill Blvd. #374, La Canada, CA 91011.

Recipients of the scholarship in 2023 include Srijani Bhattacharya, Jaxon Brookey, Adam Kakuk, Laura “Leo” Konefat, Mia Macias, Rachel Salit, Savannah Tang and Ari Tujian.

The winners of the award in 2022 were Gizem Altinok, Andrew Berry, Natalie Crowell, Brooke Gilchrest, Devyn Oh, Soren Ryssdal and Henry Thuss, while Maggie Mackenzie won the scholarship in 2021. 

Other recipients include Haley Lowes-Bica and Zach Northrop in 2020; Jordan Stroud, Colin Lyman, Nicole Reynolds, Jonathan Ha and Ashley Knutson in 2019; Anthony Crehan, Connor Soohoo and Finn Sagal in 2018; Sean Segal, Zhiyou Low and Charlie Reynolds in 2017; Katherine Cunningham, Bryan Dohi and Kathryn Engler in 2016; Eric Engler and Hannah Henry in 2015; and Nora Sagal, Blake Scott and Griffin Van Amringe in 2014.

Ryder Buck

First published in the June 20 print issue of the Outlook Valley Sun.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]