HomeBlocksFront-GridLCHS Athletes Recognized With All-League Honors

LCHS Athletes Recognized With All-League Honors

First published in the Dec. 1 print issue of the Outlook Valley Sun.

All-Rio Hondo League teams were recently released following the conclusion of the CIF fall sports season. The La Cañada High School girls’ volleyball, football and boys’ water polo squads each had standout performances who were honored.

Following its second straight undefeated Rio Hondo League season, the La Cañada High School varsity girls’ volleyball team now boasts the league’s MVP in junior Haley Clark.
Clark had a terrific campaign, leading the Spartans with 354 kills (.403 attack percentage) while adding 202 digs, 44 aces, 41 blocks and 31 assists. Junior Chloe Nussbaum was named the league’s Libero of the Year, as she racked up team-high marks in aces (69) and digs (438) with 102 assists. Senior Nikki Hughes earned first team honors, producing 300 kills (.392 attack percentage), 148 digs, 44 blocks and 40 aces.

<sub>La Cañada High School senior Nikki Hughes earned all league first team honors with a 392 attack percentage and 300 kills<sub>

Meanwhile, junior Tatum Purdy and sophomore Ashby Zubchevich were each second team selections. Purdy amassed a team-high 820 assists while adding 187 digs, 53 aces, 42 kills and 13 blocks. Zubchevich, who played 51 regular-season sets due to the CIF transfer rule, posted a team-high .433 attack percentage (190 kills) with 83 digs, 15 aces and eight blocks. In her first full campaign at the varsity level, freshman Vani Tatoulian earned an honorable mention. She posted a team-high 61 blocks with 89 kills, 33 digs, 14 aces and 10 assists.

La Cañada senior Corey Cheung was named the Rio Hondo League’s Offensive Player of the Year after finishing the campaign with 22 touchdowns and 1,674 rushing yards on 203 carries. He rushed for 100-plus yards in eight of 11 games and finished with 2,119 all-purpose yards.
Junior Brandon Goldsby and senior Jake Adkins earned first and second team offensive line honors, respectively. Senior Macky Plocher was the second team quarterback while senior Trent Carey was named the second team wide receiver. Sophomore Josh Carruthers was selected as a first team defensive back, while senior Anthony Venneri earned second team defensive back honors. Senior Andrew Gevorgian was named second team defensive line, senior Mateo Gallegos earned second team linebacker honors, and senior Royce Xiao was first team kicker. Juniors Lorenz Bayug and Griffin Milewski each earned honorable mentions.

<sub>La Cañada High Schools Max Ratcliffe was named the Rio Hondo League Most Valuable Goalie<sub>

La Cañada’s Max Ratcliffe was named the Rio Hondo League’s Most Valuable Goalie. Teammate Ian Wipfli was named to the first team, while Erik Landswick was selected to the second team. Alexander Abramian earned an honorable mention.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]